California State University USA

California State University, Stanislaus




Academic Programs

The University offers over 100 majors, minors, concentrations and teaching credentials, 24 master's degree programs and six graduate certificate programs as well as an Executive MBA and a doctoral degree program in Educational Leadership. Students are encouraged to take courses to give them a broad understanding of the liberal arts and sciences in their first two years so they can make an informed choice of specialization.






The highly accessible faculty is renowned for teaching, research, and service. More than half of the faculty are full time tenured or tenure track. Over eighty percent of full time faculty hold doctorates or terminal degrees in their fields. There are 293 full time and 164 part time faculty.



Student Body

The diverse student body includes many first generation college students and working parents. The student body of 9,246 includes 7,921 undergraduate students and 1,325 graduate students (fall 2011).



At a Glance



The State Legislature established what was then known as Stanislaus State College in 1957. The first classes opened in September of 1960 in the Stanislaus County Fairgrounds. In 1965, the College moved to its permanent campus. It was awarded university status and renamed California State University, Stanislaus in 1985.
Residents of San Joaquin County gained access to public higher education when the University opened the Stockton Development Center on the campus of San Joaquin Delta College in 1974. In the fall of 1998, the Center, renamed CSU Stanislaus-Stockton Center, moved to its permanent site on Magnolia Avenue in downtown Stockton.


CSU Stanislaus is part of the California State University, a 23-campus system across California. With more than 400,000 students, it is the largest, the most diverse, and one of the most affordable university systems in the country.  CSU campuses emphasize access to quality public higher education and workforce preparation that is responsive to regional needs.
CSU Stanislaus is a member of the Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) program, giving students from outside of California a valuable opportunity to participate in California’s top-notch public university system. The WUE is a part of the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE). Through WUE, students in Arizona, Montana, Oregon, Alaska, Nevada, Utah, Colorado, New Mexico, Washington, Hawaii, South/North Dakota, Wyoming, and Idaho may enroll at CSU Stanislaus at a reduced tuition level: 150 percent of in-state resident tuition. WUE tuition is considerably less than nonresident tuition.


California State University, Stanislaus blends modern facilities with the pastoral charm of the countryside. The University enjoys an ideal location in the heart of California’s Central Valley, a short distance from the San Francisco Bay Area, Monterey, Big Sur, the Sierra Nevada mountains, and the governmental hub of Sacramento. The 228-acre campus is located in the City of Turlock – a community that prides itself on its small-town atmosphere, clean living space, excellent schools, and low crime rate. The campus itself is a beautiful, park-like setting in an environment conducive to learning. Shaded by hundreds of trees and graced by ponds, trickling streams and waterfalls, the picturesque campus offers moments of peace and relaxation to busy students, faculty, staff, and the community to actively participate in the learning-centered activities sponsored by the campus.


No Downloads Avaiable